Unpicking Galore

Welcome 🙂

Yet again not much of a sewing week but plenty of reverse sewing happening! I unearthed a project I started about 2 years ago where I had a bit of a frenzy of cutting up scraps into 2 and a 1/2″ squares and sewing them into 9 patches ready to make something with, however like so many of these ‘on a whim’ projects it got sidelined for something more interesting.

But it resurfaced this week and I didn’t like it! So I’ve spent a happy few hours carefully  unpicking all the seams (during my lunchtimes mainly – me and my work desk were covered in little bits of thread 😉 )

20170712_181837

Now I have piles of squares all sorted out into different fabrics ready to be made into something I do like when the fancy takes me 🙂 It’s changed from something I didn’t want to think about into an opportunity to look forward to when I find the right pattern – that’s got to be worth a couple of hours unpicking, right?

Funny thing happened in the car this week with Son 1. I had glibly said that I’d do anything to help with the wedding, ‘Anything?’ he asked, ‘Yes,’ I replied, ‘Even more bunting?’ says he. Now thinking that he was joking because all the bunting had been done I said,’ Of course,’ to which he pushed a tub of cut out hearts into my hand and smiled, the term ‘walked into that one’ sprang to mind 😉

20170712_181854

At my monthly quilting group this week we made angels – little beaded angels held together with wire and safety pins. The language was far from angelic as we struggled making them but we were all pleased with the results.

20170712_202819

Not sure I’d make another but if you want to have a go there’s a similar thing here on Craftbits.

I hope you all have a good week end.

Until next time,

Chris x

3 thoughts on “Unpicking Galore

  1. ugh. All that ripping. I’ve improved a lot on my ripping ability lately…. not a skill you really want to have practice improving! LOL on the hearts. Have fun! And I also liked your comments in making angels. 🙂

    Like

  2. Shame about the ripping, Chris! Definitely worth unpicking though. I look forward to seeing what you make with your squares.

    Guess what! Tomorrow I have ripping too! Having made four strips of HTS I found two strips are wrong!

    Your angels are very sweet, thank you for the link!

    Barbara x

    Like

It's always good to hear from you.

