Happy St George’s Day

Welcome 🙂

I hope you’ve all had a lovely Easter and are having a lovely St George’s Day.

I don’t usually even know when St George’s Day is but this year I thought I’d mark the occasion by wearing a special brooch (a bit like the St David’s brooch I made here).

The national flower of England is the Tudor rose and I discovered that there are very few crochet patterns ‘out there’ for making one. I eventually found just what I needed on Ravelry and was congratulating myself on my find when I realised I couldn’t find a link to the pattern! At that point I gave up looking and made up a pattern. See what you think,

 

Happy St Georges day

Over Easter Hubby and I went to Cardiff, Wales’ capital city, for a mini break. The LONG car journey there was not wasted as I took some hand stitching projects with me, as most of what I was working on are presents I can’t share them with you yet but here’s a glimpse of something which is for a display in Church.

20170421_192625

It’s a bit of a mystery object at the moment but hopefully all will become clear as the project progresses.

While we were in Cardiff I did quite a bit of wandering around and sight seeing. One of the highlights, for me, was visiting a gallery called Craft in the Bay which displayed local artist’s work.

Several artists had been invited to submit work on the theme of bowls and while they were all very creative and imaginative, the work of two artist’s particularly caught my eye.

20170414_123545

20170414_123608

Bowls by Zoe Hillyard

These fabric bowls are made by taking a smashed pot and covering the broken pieces with fabric and stitching them together to make the bowl as whole as possible. If you look carefully you can see the joins with the occasional hole where the piece of pot is missing. Those lines on the inside are long stitches of thread giving the inside of the bowl a different look and texture to the outside.

Never in all my life of breaking things have I ever thought of doing this, I thought it was such an imaginative thing to do. So you know what I’ll be doing next time I drop a pot!

20170414_123751

Bowls by Paul Taylor

This artist used a flat slab of clay to fashion a bowl and embellished it with texture. I thought that this could be easily translated into a fabric bowl –  two layers of fabric stiffened with interfacing to make a square, cut and stitched into a shallow bowl then texture and decoration added with anything your heart desires.

There are SOOOO many things I want to have a go at!!! I guess that’s why we all tend to have far too many UFO’s 😉

Enjoy your week.

Until next time,

Christine x

 

2 thoughts on “Happy St George’s Day

  1. Happy St Georges Day Chris! I love the rose brooch – well done you. The fabric covered bowls are amazing – what an interesting idea. Like you I would never have thought of that. xx

    Like

  2. Hi Chris, I love seeing your latest on Mulberry Mouse which I stumbled across on Pinterest a couple of months ago. I live in Australia and we commemorate our War Servicemen and women on Anzac Day, 25th of April. In addition, there is also commemoration of Rememberence Day in November. Although the red poppy has been synonymous with Rememberance Day it have become a token for Anzac Day as well. We have many crotchet and even knitting patterns to create a red poppy which would be useful for your Tudor Rose. If interested in the movement check out 5000 Poppies on Google. It details the organisation of a massive tribute to our Anzacs. Cheers, Annette Q

    Like

It's always good to hear from you.

