Sister’s Choice

Welcome 🙂

I’m enjoying seeing lots of bloggers showing their 2016 finishes and their 2017 projects. I still haven’t made any decisions on what to work on this year but Dear Jane will be high on my list, I am close to finishing all the square blocks (about 10 more to do) now so need to get ready for the challenge of the triangular blocks.

As for my 2016 makes well here’s a few I made for my sister. I made these cushion covers way back in September. She’d visited my niece out in New Zealand a while ago and returned with a bag of ‘Made in New Zealand’ quilting fabrics and a request to make a few things for her Christmas present.

The brief was very open, ‘ cushion covers, all different, scrappy style, you choose the design’.

Hmm, I thought, one of the blocks has just got to be Sister’s Choice! And here it is…

20160922_160033

The batik fabric she gave me was beautiful. It has kiwis, ferns and the outline of New Zealand on it, as my niece lives on North Shore I tried to get that part of the pattern in the centre.

I also did a Sawtooth Star

20160922_160134

with a bit of fussy cutting to get that Kiwi in the centre.

20160922_160123

I made a couple more but sadly have mislaid the photos of them – you’ll just have to take my word for it;)

She also wanted some place mats making using a specific piece of fabric so that was straight forward to do.

20161020_134624-copy

The patterned fabric only needed simple quilting and all those straight lines on the fabric helped keep me stitching straight too!

20161020_134629-copy

Until next time,

Chris x

 

5 thoughts on “Sister’s Choice

  1. She is so lucky to have you so willing! Sister’s Choice is my all-time favorite block, and that one’s a beauty. You made some lovely things for her.

    Like

It's always good to hear from you.

