Catch Up

Welcome 🙂

I’ve arrived a bit late to the party which is Bonnie Hunter’s Annual Christmas Mystery Quilt En Provence. It was always my intention to join in but I just wasn’t organised enough to get my fabric ready in time.

But last week I visited a local quilt shop and managed to buy everything I needed (I was in the shop for well over an hour and spent a LOT of time agonising over colour choices! ) and so I’m now playing catch up with my sewing of the blocks.

So far four blocks have been revealed and Bonnie says that as long as you’ve done a few of each block before the next clue is released all will be well. So I’ve concentrated on doing just that.

Here are mine so far.

20161221_143905

The four patches are quite straightforward but Bonnie gives you hints and tips on how to speed up the process of making them accurately which is proving very helpful.

20161221_143847

This is the first time I’ve made triangle in a square blocks and again Bonnie has provided a helpful YouTube clip to show you exactly what to do. The fourth block is another triangle in a square block but in a different colourway.

As I said I have only done a few of each and still have oodles to do before I’m up to date but as long as I have the clues they will get done.

The next clue is due tomorrow – Friday. I’m quietly excited about what I’ll be making next 🙂

I was reading Lucie the Happy Quilter’s blog today and she’s  been busy deciding what her goals for 2017 will be. One thing she’s doing is to try to finish 17 UFOs in 2017 which is a great idea. If I hadn’t already spent 2016 trying hard to clear some of my UFOs I would join in too. But after being so good I really feel the need to start a new project – hence the Mystery quilt.

But Lucie has started me off thinking about what goals I’d like to set myself next year. Something to ponder on in the quiet moments of the season.

Christmas is nearly here so I shall take this opportunity to wish you all a very Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year. May you be blessed as you celebrate Christ’s birth.

Until next time,

Chris x

6 thoughts on “Catch Up

  1. I look forward to seeing what goals you set and how you progress as the new year unfurls. I think the most important thing to do is keeping moving forward and enjoy life to the fullest Chris. I wish you and yours a peaceful and joyous Christmas. I hope 2017 is filled with interesting adventures, good health and much happiness for you x

    Like

  2. I love mystery quilts so I am looking forward to following your progress on this one. Pretty fabrics.
    I hope you have a lovely Christmas Chris and a very happy, stitchy, peaceful 2017. xx

    Like

  3. Your parts are looking good. From what I can see, you made great color choices. I hope you are having a wonderful Christmas Day. I’m SO behind! LOL

    Like

  4. Ooh! Love your colours, Chris! I’ve seen a few bloggers joining in with this QAL …. looking forward to seeing your progress!

    I can’t join in with goals ….. too easily distracted ….. be nice to see what you are finishing though!

    Hope you are having a great Christmas break.

    Wishing you a Very Happy, and Healthy New Year!

    Hugs,
    Barbara xx

    Like

It's always good to hear from you.

