A Time to Remember

Welcome 🙂

I have been busy finishing off a project for my church. I confess that this project was supposed to be one I completed during Lent but I only got the background pieced which didn’t take long and then I went on a mission to find a pattern for some poppies that I liked.

It took a while and then, by chance, I came across this book by Lynn Ann Majidimehr and my search was over but, by then, so was Lent 😉

20161110_072535

So this project really got started during September when I’d collected the fabric together.

I fused all the flower pieces in place on the background then I started stitching all the pieces down by hand using blanket stitch. Some lovely friends all took a turn at doing some and in the end it quickly came together to produce this…

20161017_142717

Although there is pink in the poppies the overall impression is red – not sure if that comes out in the photos.

I finished it off with a few beads and stitches for the stamens and was quite amazed at what a difference it made.

And here it is in situ, ready for Remembrance Day tomorrow.

20161106_120901

Fuzzy photo – I must have been in a bit of a rush – or excited at seeing it in Church for the first time!

20161106_12092020161017_14274220161017_142839

Now back to Dear Jane 😉

Until next time,

Chris x

 

8 thoughts on “A Time to Remember

It's always good to hear from you.

