Lily of the Valley

Welcome 🙂

After much procrastinating I have finally and at long last completed my wall hanging. This is the third of a series of three I’ve done, each one featuring a different 3 dimensional flower. Lily of the Valley reminds me of my paternal Grandma, I have a hazy childhood memory of a little vase of lily of the valley being on her sideboard.

So this is for Grandma Constance.

20160922_155858

20160922_155923

I’ve had a request for a tutorial on how to make the little flowers. They are a little fiddly so be prepared to be patient with yourself! Here we go…

  1. I used a rectangle of  fabric 2″ by 1 1/4″(that’s one and a quarter inch NOT eleven!)

20160922_161841

2. Fold the rectangle in half, right sides together, and hand sew a 1/4″ seam using running stitch. Make a knot at the top of the seam but don’t cut the thread.

20160922_161959

3. Using the same thread sew a running stitch all around the top edge about 1/4″ in from the edge.

20160922_162107

4. Pull up the stitches to create a gather and tie off the thread.

20160922_162202

5. Turn the flower the right way round leaving all the raw edges inside.

6. Fold up the remaining raw edge inside the flower to give you the size of flower you want (at least 1/4″)

and sew a running stitch along the hem. At this point you can put a bit of wadding inside the flower to help it keep its shape, or not – it’s up to you 😉 . Pull these stitches up to make a gathered edge then tie off the thread.

20160922_162606

7. Sew onto your background with the seam of the flower against the fabric.

Et voila, a pretty little lily of the valley flower, or make it in blue and it can be a bluebell.

Yippee, that’s another one of my WIPs done 🙂

I already know what my next one has GOT to be as it has to be completed by November in time for Remembrance Sunday, luckily this one is a group effort for Church so it’ll get done with a little help from my friends.

Until next time,

Chris x

6 thoughts on “Lily of the Valley

    • I don’t suppose they have to be so small, especially if you pack them with a bit of wadding to support them. I need to get some picture hooks put up to hang the wall hangings from now.

      Enjoy your day.

      Chris x

      ________________________________

      Like

It's always good to hear from you.

