Bra Bag Lady

Welcome πŸ™‚

My holiday is looming comfortingly close and I decided, fairly last minute, to make myself a new bag to take with me.

The ‘Bra’ bag is the nickname of an altogether more seriously named bag which I first made umpteen years ago. When I showed it to an equally crafty person they immediately said, ‘ah a bra bag!’ called because… well you can work it out!20160726_135852

20160726_135948

The bag opens out to have a square base so it holds a lot of stuff.

20160726_140011I bought the main fabric (dragonflies) several years ago with the intention of making a bag with it but it got put aside while I hunted around for a fabric to go with it and it was eventually relegated to the stash drawer.

THEN

A couple of weeks ago I went to a quilt exhibition and the perfect fabric was sitting on a trade stall calling out to me πŸ˜‰ Funnily enough the stall belonged to the same person I bought the original fabric from all those years ago!20160726_135922An inside pocket so I don’t have to scrabble round for my purse and other essentials.Β I do find it easier to find things if a bag has a light coloured lining and this japanese lady fabric must have been sitting in a drawer waiting to be used for longer than the dragonfly fabric!

And finally, why it got it’s nickname πŸ˜‰

20160726_135906

I shall leave you with a couple of photos of a beautiful little quilt from the exhibition I bought the fabric at, made with Liberty fabric – just love those spool blocks and that central block is very reminiscent of a Dear Jane block which I really must get going on again πŸ™‚20160716_12323720160716_123246

Until next time,

Chris x

7 thoughts on “Bra Bag Lady

  1. What a pretty quilt! I love your bag – that shape is really useful and I agree about having a light coloured lining. How imminent is your holiday? xx

    Like

  2. Very pretty quilt! I Love your bag! I love to add plenty of pockets, I hate to search for those tiny things at the bottom of the bag! Such a nice lining fabric too! Ohh ….. I must make a new bag! Where are you off to on your hols, and how soon is it?
    Barbara xx

    Like

    • Sorry to have taken so long to reply but when I said I’d left making the bag to the last minute I wasn’t kidding! I’ve just got back from a lovely time in Brittany among other places. The washing machine is working at full capacity and the house is a tip πŸ™‚

      Chris x

      Sent from my iPad

      Like

  3. Hah. Love the name.. Bra bag.
    I have used this pattern many times in so many sizes. Even made it into my Santa sack swap bag using 10″ squares. It is a great pattern and so useful…

    Like

  4. It looks like a great bag, and you will fill it for your holiday, I’m sure! How funny that both fabrics came from the same vendor! I love the cute little quilt. Very happy fabrics there.

    Like

  5. Pingback: The Wanderer Returns | The Mulberry Mouse

It's always good to hear from you.

